Home Rule Charter

The inhabitants of the City of New Orleans, within the boundaries now established by law or as may hereafter be established, shall be and continue a body politic and corporate by the name of "City of New Orleans," hereinafter in this Charter called "City." By that name it shall have perpetual succession and enjoy all of the powers hereinafter recited.

The government provided by this Charter shall be known as the Mayor-Council form of government. The Mayor shall be aided by a Chief Administrative Officer who, in the performance of the duties of office, shall be responsible to the Mayor.​

View the Home Rule Charter

Effective May 1, 1954 (As Amended Through November 8, 2016)​