New Orleans Museum of Art

Contact Information

Phone:(504) 658-4100
Board address:

1 Collins C. Diboll Circle, City Park
New Orleans, Louisiana, 70124


The New Orleans Museum of Art (NOMA) manages, administers, and operates the New Orleans Museum of Art and its offsite facilities. NOMA cultivates, promotes and inspires knowledge, love and appreciation of the fine arts through educational programs and exhibits, and encourages and conducts the education, conservation, presentation and development of the fine arts. 


Between twenty-one and forty-nine members.

  • The City Council appoints one councilmember who serves at the pleasure of the City Council;
  • The Mayor;
  • The Chairman of the New Orleans Museum of Art Director’s Council;
  • The President of the New Orleans Museum of Art Volunteer Committee;
  • The Board elects additional members as follows:
    • One Trustee from two persons nominated by the Board of Commissioners of New Orleans City Park Improvement Association
    • Up to three Trustees from a group nominated by the Presidents of Tulane University, Loyola University, University of New Orleans, Dillard University, Xavier University, Southern University in New Orleans, Delgado Community College and Holy Cross College; and
  • The Board elects the remaining members as at-large members.

Term Length

Three years; Ex-officio members serve terms concurrent with time in respective office.

(Created by: Amended and Restated Articles of Incorporation of New Orleans Museum of Art)