New Orleans Public Belt Railroad Commission

Contact Information

Phone:(504) 896-7410
Board address:

4822 Tchoupitoulas Street
New Orleans, Louisiana 70115


The New Orleans Public Belt Railroad Commission operates the New Orleans Public Belt Railroad.


The Mayor and nine members.

  • The Mayor appoints three members from the New Orleans-Metairie-Kenner Metropolitan Statistical Area approved by the City Council; and
  • The Mayor appoints six members, one from each list of nominations submitted to the Mayor from the New Orleans Board of Trade, New Orleans Chamber of Commerce, New Orleans Black Chamber of Commerce, Business Council of New Orleans and the River Region, board of the Port of New Orleans, and the presidents of Xavier, Dillard, Loyola and Tulane Universities.

Term Length

Four years.

(Created by: La R.S. 33:4530; City Charter Sec. 5-201, et seq.; Code of Ord. Sec. 2-291)