About the Historic District Landmarks Commission

HDLC Mission

The Historic District Landmarks Commission (HDLC) is the City's regulatory agency for local historic districts outside of the Vieux Carre. Established in 1976, this agency provides the staff and office space for the two Commissions, the New Orleans Historic District Landmarks Commission and the Central Business District Historic District Landmarks Commission.

The two Historic District Landmarks Commissions safeguard the heritage of the City by preserving and regulating historic landmarks and districts which reflect elements of its cultural, social, economic, political and architectural history. They preserve and enhance the quality of neighborhoods, strengthening the City's economic base, stimulating the tourist industry, improving property values, fostering economic development, and encouraging growth. 

Governing Policies

Enabling Legislation

The New Orleans and Central Business District Historic District Landmarks Commissions were created and empowered by the New Orleans City Council.  The enabling legislation for New Orleans was adopted in 1976 and the Central Business District was adopted in 1978.  The enabling legislation, now part of the City Code,  establishes the legal framework for the Commissions, including Commission composition, term limits, definitions, powers, processes and procedures

  • Enabling Legislation for the New Orleans & CBD HDLC

Rules, Policies And Procedures

This document establishes in greater detail the rules, policies and procedures that govern Commission meetings, the application process, and committees. 

Landmark Creation Policies

Landmarks are structures of particular cultural, economic, social or architectural significance to the City of New Orleans.  These landmarks such as the Pitot House and Orpheum Theater often lie outside of the boundaries of the historic districts but are protected through individual designation.  

Commissioners and Committee Members

New Orleans Historic District Landmarks Commission

  • Jennie Cannon West - Faubourg Marigny- Chair
  • Jason King - Parkview - Vice Chair
  • Vacant - Lower Garden District
  • Vacant - Esplanade Ridge
  • Vacant - Holy Cross
  • Tim Lupin - Uptown
  • Ross Karsen - Bywater
  • Annie Clark - Mid-City
  • Vacant - Carrollton
  • Jim Ashbee, Jr. - St. Charles Avenue
  • Greg Hackenberg, Irish Channel
  • Vacant - Treme
  • Jennifer Greene - At Large
  • Shawanda Poree - Algiers Point
  • Anne Redd - Garden District                                                          

New Orleans Architectural Review Committee

For ARC submittal requirements, click here.

  • Cynthia Dubberley
  • Jonathan Tate
  • Amanda Rivera
  • Tracie Ashe
  • Daniel Zangara

Central Business District Historic District Landmarks Commission

  • Seamus McGuire - Chairman
  • John Boyd - Vice Chairman
  • Whiton Paine
  • Gregory Curtis
  • Peter Trapolin
  • J. Matt Norton 
  • Adrienne Dixson
  • Bradley Becnel
  • Tim Spratt  
  • Darrell Dumestre

CBD Architectural Review Committee

For ARC submittal requirements, click here.

  • Miriam Salas
  • Ashley King
  • Robbie Cangelosi
  • Robert Boyd
  • Randy Hutchison